Second Tenure: Hon. Alabi Kolade David Begins Repositioning Agenda as ALGON National President

Following the giant strides recorded during his leadership as the National President of Association of Local Governments of Nigeria (ALGON), Hon. Alabi Kolade David has been unanimously reelected for a second tenure.

His reelection and swearing in was one of the high points at the ALGON General Assembly meeting in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) on Wednesday, March 24, 2021.

It is expected his second tenure will mark the beginning of a more robust strategic repositioning of ALGON as the General Assembly adopted a 5-year Strategic Plan (2021 – 2025).

The strategic plan, geared towards making ALGON a more vibrant and respected association, which is responsive to its members and stakeholders, was a product of a 2-dag retreat by the previous administration led by Hon. Alabi David.

In his post-swearing in speech, the National President appreciated the confidence reposed in him by members of the association, through their delegates at the General Assembly.

According to Hon Alabi Kolade David in his acceptance speech, “I’m indeed humbled by your continued support.

“When we started this journey, we promised you that we are going to move with a new strategy. I am not standing here to tell you that we are moving with a new strategy, we have already started that journey.

“I am appreciative of your support. I am humbled and I am assuring you that I will not take your support for granted.

“Myself and my team, we shall represent you well”, he pledged amid applause.

Earlier, the chairman of ALGON Board of Trustees, Ategbero Odunayo, commended the national president for organising the General Assembly, insisting that security of lives and property has become daily occurrence, leading to loss of lives and deserves attention.

He appealed to members of the association to support creation of state police, urging ALGON members to lobby representatives of their respective constituencies at all State Houses of Assembly as well as the state governors for the concurrent passage of local government autonomy Bill recently passed into law by the national Assembly.

Full list those reelected alongside Hon. Alabi Kolade David are: Hon. Shehu Jega Marshal Deputy National President; Hon. Solomon Izukwukwu Onah, National Publicity Secretary; Hon. Aminu Muazu Maifata, national treasurer; Hon. Taufiq Isa, National Legal Adviser; Hon. Ezekiel Rabuet, National Auditor; Hon. Kia Ebidoughebofan, National Financial Secretary, among other ex-officio members.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.