NGIJ Inaugurates New National Executive Council

The Nigerian Guild of Investigative Journalists NGIJ has inaugurated its newly elected national executive with a pledge to focus on investigations for good governance. The new national executive council is the first elected leaders of the association of investigative journalists.

According to a statement by the NGIJ Vice President, Information and Strategy, Mr Israel Bolaji, The 7-member national executive council, led by Ayo Mojoyin, was inaugurated on Wednesday in line with Covid-19 health protocols by the Chairman of Nigerian Union of Journalists, Lagos chapter, Dr Qasim Akinreti and a Notary Public, Barrister Joshua Isijola.

“NGIJ will be an active player in the movement to actualise robust investigation, good governance and public accountability for sustainable development in Nigeria nationally and across all states,” said Mr Ayo Mojoyin who emerged as the first duly elected NGIJ national president.

Speaking also at the inauguration, Dr Akinreti charged the new executive council to live up to its responsibilities by ensuring maximum attention to investigating anomalies in the society. “The role of the media includes probing issues to unravel mysteries, providing robust news coverage, keeping the public informed and setting societal agenda amongst others.”

Akinreti urged the newly inaugurated council to beam searchlights on many grey areas in the Nigerian society and practice the profession with utmost respect for the ethics of journalism and in good faith to all and sundry.

While administering the Oath of Office, Barrister Joshua Isijola, a senior lawyer and Notary Public urged the executive council members to uphold the tenets of the Guild and discharge its duties without fear or favour and actualise the objectives of the guild as enshrined in the Constitution.

Other members of the NGIJ executive elected for a two-year tenure were Mr. Israel Bolaji (Vice President 1), Mr James Ezema, who is the publisher of Abuja Business Reports (Vice President 2), Mr. AbdulRahman Aliagan (National General Secretary) and Mr Femi Oyewale (National PRO). Others are Mr Oyewale Oyelola (National Registrar) and Mr Rowland ‘Shuwa ( Financial Secretary).

Abuja Business Reports recalls that the congress recently dissolved the association’s acting national executive council and ordered an election into the vacant national offices.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.